Playing hooky

Waiver day.

That’s what they call it around here – waiver day. I call it the, “What do you mean you don’t have school on Monday”-day. I don’t remember having waiver days when I was little. Did we?

Of course, I went to Catholic school until high school back when the nuns were in charge. I don’t think they believed in “waiver days.” Sister Margaret Mary (God bless her) believed in many things – maybe even in extra helpings of dessert – but a day off each month for kids? Nope, not a part of her plan.

But waiver days are a part of our life now. I reschedule work, I make adjustments for life and we carry on.

I have two big events coming up in two weeks – a huge brunch that a group I belong to hosts and sweet Zoe is having her First Communion. The brunch is fun but stressful as the day gets closer. You see, this is an event where each member of my group hosts a table or two (I’m doing two), with each one having its own theme and decorations. Many in my group are very talented at the decorations – so much so that Martha Stewart would feel like a novice if she saw it. I’m no Martha, so the stress of keeping up with the Joneses is palpable in the days leading up to this event. Don’t believe me? Read about Dinosaur Day and you’ll understand…

First Communion is a big deal, too, and I don’t want Zoe to feel short-changed about her day. Were having a party at the farm afterwards, so it isn’t completely stress-free, but not as anxiety filled as it could be if held elsewhere.

(By the way, anyone on the Country Boys side of the world – you are all absolutely invited to the event and party. I’m guessing that he might not have said anything about it because, well…because I’m guessing he doesn’t seem to say much more about life over here other than “things are good.”  I’m getting used to that. Still, we’d all love to have you here for the mass and party. Feel free to tease him about not passing along the invitation next time you talk.)

So, with those two events looming, you’d think that I’d take full advantage of a free day to work my tail off getting ready. (My tail could use some working off, believe me. Those wings last night at dinner certainly didn’t help in the reduction process.) I spent the whole week and weekend going, transporting, shuffling, working, running, blah blah blah. A day with nothing critical scheduled? Sounds like a Godsend!

I got on the treadmill this morning for my five-mile run with my brain spinning thinking about what we could accomplish today – decorations, projects, favors – when the weatherwoman’s voice penetrated my brain like a siren’s call:

“The Indians are playing a double-header today with the first game starting at 1:05 and the weather should be perfect….”

Hey, Cameron. You realize if we played by the rules right now we'd be in gym?Have I ever mentioned that one of my favorite movies of all time is Ferris Bueller’s Day Off? The classic quote is, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” I think today’s a great day not to miss life. I think today is the day that the girls and I take full advantage of their desire to still want to hang out with their Mom when they don’t have school and my ability to take a day off from work to be there for them. I think today I’ll remember what it’s like to laugh, be silly and not worry about stuff (like what ribbon to use as ties on my favors) that doesn’t really matter in the long run.

It’s time to play hooky.

It’s time to head down to the ol’ ball park for hot dogs (no bun, please) and peanuts.

It’s time to listen to the crack of the bat and the crowd roar.

I just wish I had a friend like Cameron with a convertible 1961 Ferrari 250 GT California. Oh well, my 10-year-old Odyssey will have to do.

Maybe there’s something to love about Waiver Days after all… Happy Monday everyone!

**************

Updated 30 mintues later:

Those darn nuns…I started feeling guilty for taking a whole day off so I did two loads of laundry and finished mulching the front flower bed. Now, back to playing hooky…

 

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

