Things I’ve learned that I can’t live without (or at least without getting crabby)

Microwave.  Ours died the day we moved in. Three weeks without a microwave has been a pain. Reheating leftovers, warming up Zoe’s frozen GF bread, making a quick popcorn snack for the girls – I never knew how much we relied on a microwave until now.

Dishwasher. Died the month before we moved in but so old that repairs were nearly the cost of new one. Again, being able to have a sink clean of dirty dishes was apparently something I became fond of in the old house. It was driving me crazy, especially when you add up the gazillion dishes two girls can use at one meal – fruit bowl, breakfast plate, cup for milk, cup for water after milk, bowl for the Chex they thought they wanted after they ate their toast, etc. I was getting buried by dirty dishes.

Grill. I am a grill master (thanks, Dad). We grill 12 months out of the year, all types of food, all types of weather. I have been known to shovel through 3 feet of snow to reach my grill so we can have burgers or the most delicious chicken ever (thanks, Lupos).  Not having a grill as a cooking option up my sleeve was more difficult than I imagined.

Two bathrooms. We started renovating the 2nd bathroom when we first got the house to add a tub/shower and a vanity sink. Then the floor refinishing took priority. And painting. And moving. Next thing I know, I am living in a house where the only bathroom is the Master. We survived sharing a small vanity and shower space. But, if you have kids, you know there are times when you get home and EVERYONE needs to go to the bathroom RIGHT NOW. That’s when I missed having a 2nd bathroom as an option.

Thankfully, four things happened in the last two weeks: Mother’s Day (new dishwasher!), a surprise day off (bathroom done!), a lovely shower given by some wonderful women of the MOMS Group, and a little “thank you” bonus from work that came after one of the companies sold (microwave and grill!). So life in the kitchen (and outside of it) is getting back to a more normal, city girl state. Amen

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

