Progress (and I’m not the only one nesting)

As much as the wedding planning needs to happen, this weekend was the weekend for making strides in taming the chaos of home. Curtis, working with two Amish friends, spent 8 hours putting in fence posts for the new pasture on Saturday. (I was going to take a photo but I couldn’t remember if the Amish allow photos or not so I didn’t want to offend) While the men were out in the field, I was inside getting the places we “graze” ready.  I fixed toilets, hung pictures, climbed the playhouse/old chicken coop roof, got tools out of nearly every corner of the place, etc., etc.  By the end of the day Monday, things were noticeably different. This house has become our home (at least for the girls and I – we promise to make room for Curt’s stuff come July). There are still boxes to be dealt with and bathroom fixtures to change (and that dining room light really needs to go), but I don’t clench my teeth every room I enter. It’s a nice feeling to know that I can enter nearly any room in this home and relax – that is if I didn’t have a wedding in just over a month…

Someone else was very active over the weekend, too. A pair of barn swallows have made a nest in the barn. Apparently, they stay very active collecting food (which are insects – and they can collect as many of those that they want as far as I’m concerned) until dusk. So each evening we need to let them take their last swoop of the air and get back to the nest before we close the barn door. I was sort of hoping that this might be a good first barn chore for the girls, but the door was a little too stiff for them to push close. So, it will be my job to put a few more kids to bed for a few months. We are all looking forward to seeing how the nest and babies progress over the coming weeks.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

