Meeting the Neighbors

Zoe and I met one of our neighbors last night…well, actually, it was the neighbor’s dog. The conversation went something like this:

Zoe was on her bike, I was carrying recycling down the driveway to the curb. Growling dog comes charging out of the neighbor’s garage. Figuring that there’s an electric fence, I was not alarmed. Dog, unbound by any fence, or chain, or human figure, continues to bark as he runs onto our driveway and circles around me towards Zoe. I yell “NO” at the top of my voice once. “BARK! GROWL! BARK!” was his response. “NO” I yelled again. More barking. Finally, a man comes out from the garage and (from about 50 feet away) calls the dog in. Feeling a little embarrassed for having yelled at their dog (but thankful that I didn’t pick up a stick or rock to defend us), I say to the owner, “Oh, sorry…I guess we were a little surprised and frightened…”

He took a look at Zoe and I, turned around and walked back inside, closing the garage door.

I love it when I make a great first impression.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

