The Hops

One of the earliest memories I have of dating Curtis is seeing him hop up onto the step of a large truck that was making a delivery on a tight, dead-end street. Curtis could sense that the driver was confused about where to turn the truck around, so he hopped up onto the door step while the truck was slowly moving to let the driver know he’d help him navigate the turn. Something about that hop – the gracefulness of it, the confidence in it, along with the kindness behind it – made my heart swoon.  When I told Curtis about it, his response was, “That’s what I do all day.” (My next thought was, “Then I need to watch you at work because I want to SEE that all day, cowboy…”)

After that moment, I’ve looked for his “hops” whenever I was fortunate enough to catch sight of one. I also noticed the girls with their hops and was able to capture some on a beautiful day last fall. They’re getting better – and as they get older and start doing things around the farm, hopefully their hops will help them in their duties.

At this point you might be wondering how this ties into the wedding or life on the farm. Well, there are two important facts I left out: 1) I am known for being completely ungraceful in my footwork at the most inopportune times (like wiping out into a Wal-Mart display or in front of nearly the entire student body of my college Freshman year) and 2) apparently I am rubbing off on Curtis.

He did one of his usual all day, everyday hops yesterday from one piece of equipment to another…and didn’t make it. Has a very large and ugly scrape on his left leg that was still swollen last night to show for it.

At this point, I am glad he’s OK (nothing broken!) and that all portions of him that would show up in photographs are unscathed (way to save the face, honey!). But there is a small part of me thinking that once he stops limping I may need to sneak over to the job site to watch those hops while they last…because if he’s catching my “slips” now before we’re married, his hopping days may be numbered after July 3rd.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

