Swingers

Since the moment we got the keys to the house, we’ve had very little time to actually relax and enjoy it. Painting, floors, organizing, and fence work have dominated our time. Yesterday was no different as we spent a majority of the day organizing the garages and installing the microwave over the stove.

But when the girls got home from their Dad’s house and the late dinner for Curtis and me was still a few minutes of cooking away, something magical happened. The girls asked Curtis to play baseball with them (Zoe’s on a softball team).  A few minutes of deciding where bases would be and then the “game” was on. Watching the three of them playing in the yard was one of the sweetest things for me to see. The giggling of the girls as they raced towards each base filled the house. When I was out putting food on the grill, Madeline asked me to play, too. So there I was swinging away (literally, as Curtis threw a few fastballs right by me).  We even let Curtis take a few swings and he wowed the girls with his long fly ball that nearly reached the barn.

Part of me wishes I had grabbed a camera to capture the moment forever, but I am glad I didn’t. It was nice to just enjoy the experience fully rather than behind a lens. The girls have already asked if we could play again tonight, so it looks like our family traditions in the new house have started.

Play ball!

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Swingers

  1. Shannon Gemmill says:

    Happy tears in my eyes! So happy for all of you!

Leave a Reply

