Building my house on solid ground

You know the saying when something “fell through the cracks”? In the last 36 hours, I’ve started to have the feeling that there are as many cracks in my life as solid ground. It is throwing me for a loop.

First, I completely blanked on a very important detail that caused the person I was dealing with to respond with such fury and with such an onslaught of emotion that I am still spinning. 

I forgot the final payment for the rental hall was due last Monday and not this week – luckily, Nancy at the Town Hall sent me an email asking if the event was still on (“As far as I know, unless you talked with Curtis this morning and know something I don’t…” was my response). She’s cool with me bringing a check tomorrow – put a post-it note on my purse for that one.

Forgot that I told the caterer we’d handle the coffee service at Adam Hall. (That would be a major offense in the Manno world, I know. At least I remembered today – there’s still time to figure it out and get supplies.) Need Brewer, coffee, cups, creamers, etc. I know I have plenty of sugar

Forgot to put the boxes in my van that I promised a friend I’d drop off yesterday (which I forgot to do then, too).

Forgot the things I still don’t remember forgetting but hopefully they’ll come to me before Friday.

Now there are two things you need to know about me – one, I try to be organized and make lists. Really. Usually, it is apparent when people deal with me. 

The second thing is that I am a woman of faith. I have needed that faith – have fallen back on it/embraced it/held onto it with a death grip – many times in life and especially in the last 6 years. God has blessed me for it. The girls and I have had a wonderful time as a little family of our own and Curtis is an amazing addition to it. God is good.

In my faith, though, I believe that the Devil really tries to screw things up and puts all sorts of roadblocks up – especially if he senses something big is about to happen for God’s team. I’ve seen it and experienced it in the past when I have been a part of retreats or put on faith programs. That Devil can be creative as he tries to get us to doubt ourselves or God’s plans.

Which means that I should have seen this coming; although the sucker-punches out of nowhere still hurt.

So I need your help. I need you to pray. Pray that all of our family and friends have good, uneventful weeks and can make it in safely for the wedding. Pray that the girls have a safe week and stay healthy while they have fun at camp. Pray that the guys are safe on the job site and no trips to the hospital happen. Pray that the Jean, Greg, Christie, Amy and especially Fr. Dan – as well as all of the other people working on our wedding and helping at the parties have good ol’ regular weeks this week. Pray for nice weather for traveling. Pray for peace in the world. Pray for hope, love, and faith to prevail.

And finally, pray that I remember whatever else I need to remember and forget whatever isn’t really needed after all.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Wedding Decorating & Planning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

