Drawing the line

At what point do you give up the notion of reading the Sunday paper? Or Monday’s and Tuesday’s? If you have been holding on to them and it’s Thursday, is it OK to let it go?

I love reading the newspaper. I love the idea of getting a daily newspaper, too. It is one of the connections to my childhood. If I close my eyes, I can still see Dad sitting on the couch reading the Jamestown Post-Journal with the evening news on (no 24-hour CNN back then – just Irv Weinstein at 6 and Walter Cronkite at 6:30. I know we switched to Peter Jennings at some point because I can remember him talking about the prisoners in Iran being released the day Regan was inaugurated).  Those were the days when the paper came in the afternoon, usually delivered by one of the kids in our neighborhood. The ink would run on your hands if you read long enough and the stories in the sports and wedding sections were about the kids we or my older siblings knew.

Seeing both he and my Mom reading the paper everyday instilled in me a love of knowing what’s going on the in world. When I went to college, I would sometimes pick up a USA Today and, for the brief time it was published, The National. Don’t remember The National? It was a fantastic daily newspaper devoted to sports and featuring the best sports columnists from around the country. I may have been one of their only buyers based on how fast it went under.

After college, I switched to the Plain Dealer. Mom and Dad stopped getting the Buffalo News delivered and just kept the Post-Journal, which is now delivered in the mornings. Instead of the sports section, it is the obits that have the names of friends or their family members that we know. Time does move on.

I haven’t always subscribed to the paper – heck, I had plenty of reading to do when getting my Masters, so adding a newspaper into the mix didn’t make sense. But have subscribed for the last 10 years. I am on the internet for my work all of the time, so I see breaking news online these days. Plus, I love my morning local TV news and my nights are spent with Anderson Cooper (not sure how that’s going to work after this weekend). Still, there is something about holding the paper in my hands, smelling that ink, reading the stories and columnists that is special to me.

It connects me to Dad and Mom and my childhood.

It acts as an example to the girls about looking beyond our little world to the greater one. 

It reinforces a love of reading to them as well.

I just need to know that it’s OK to recycle the papers I just haven’t had the time to read this week.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drawing the line

  1. Shannon Gemmill says:

    It’s ok to recycle then newspaper! One day it’ll be a pretty greeting card! Let it go, girl!

Leave a Reply

