For Kim and Barb and Lil and Sharlene and Dad and…

There are some moments in life that remind you very clearly of what’s really important.

When the girls were both born and I held them for the first time.

When I found out that my old life was shattered.

When Curtis first said “I love you” and I felt my heart sing again.

The moment I found out about Dad’s accident last year.

Today is another one of those days. This morning, a friend of my is having surgery for breast cancer. Kim is a beautiful woman inside and out. She is a wonderful mom of two great kids. She’s a loving wife. She’s a faith-filled woman who always inspires me. I know she was ready for this day to come. Her Mom had breast cancer. Her aunt had it. Her Grandmother had it. I think it goes back even further than that, too. Kim was vigilant in her check ups and self exams. So when the doctors told her that they detected something, Kim was prepared.

She goes into today with a calm that comes from faith and grace. Still, today let’s make it about her rather than the “I need this” or “I have to do that” of the wedding. Today’s about Kim and all of the other brave women I know who have fought the cancer fight. Today’s about the men I know who faced that villan, too.

To the ones who have won.

To the loved ones we have lost.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For Kim and Barb and Lil and Sharlene and Dad and…

  1. I hear ya Janice. My mother is a Breast Cancer survivor. Prayers out for Kim. She will be fine.

Leave a Reply

