Separation Anxiety

Three times a summer, the girls spend a week with their Dad. Tonight is the beginning of their July week. This time away gets to be a little bitter-sweet. In the past, I would fill my time while they were gone with getting together with friends I haven’t seen in a while (LT), friends I have seen recently but haven’t been able to really talk to because some conversations you don’t want to have with kids around (K, K, LZ, etc.), or get other things done (haircut, projects) while slworking as many hours as I can.

It’s not that I couldn’t stand being alone or the quiet house (although the quiet house in the middle of nowhere is a little more spooky than the lake house used to be when I am by myself at night). It was just my way of looking at the positives of our time apart from one another rather than focusing on the negative.

Still, when we have a string of really fun times together – evenings filled with laughing, funny conversations and memory making – it is tough letting it go for a week. I know they’ll have a good time (they’re headed off on a fun trip after all), and connecting with their Dad and their step-family is important. But I miss them. 

This is the first time that they’ll be gone and I am a married woman, so the coming week will be a little different.

I’ll still work as much as I can.

I’ll still get together with as many friends as I can.

I’ll still work on as many projects as I can.

But thankfully, I don’t have to hang out with the goats and chickens for company at night.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

