The early bird

In order to get to work on time, at least in the summer months when the sun rises early, Curtis needs to be up by 3:30 and out the door not too long after that. In the two weeks that he’s been here, he’s only been late once. That was because we were both so exhausted that neither of us heard the alarm. This morning, the cell phone back up alarm – now in place because of prior incident – was our angel because I forgot to set the alarm after the weekend. (Opps…details!)  He gets home around 8, which makes for long days and lots of driving. Moving east to begin our family together was a big sacrifice for him because of the distance and driving.

For the last couple of weeks, as he’s rolled out at 4 am, I have justified rolling back into bed by saying that I needed to recoup from the craziness of life that I’d lived through in the last 6 months. It was nice to sleep in until 5:30, 6, even 6:30 on those mornings.

The problem was, I was not getting much done around the house because, once I was up, I was scrambling with the girls to get to wherever we needed to go. And, once we were out, we usually weren’t back home until dinner time. The projects were building along with my energy level.

So along came today and the new style of schedule. I decided to get up with Curtis today…OK, so I got up after him because, honestly 3:30? That’s a little extreme. So I got up at 4:30. It’s still early people.

My thought was that, since I am a morning person I should get up at the crack of dawn like I would when running and work on these projects. I used to love running 5 miles before most people got up. It gave such a feeling of accomplishment to my day. I’m hoping that I get the same feeling by finishing some of this stuff that has been lingering over my head for a few weeks. One big project is printing now – still have to stick, stuff and mail, but whew, it is a LOT closer to being done than it was last night. That feels good. That feels like I got something done. (That also feels like my siblings won’t be so upset that I dropped the ball by not getting this done earlier.)

So, we’ll see how this new schedule goes. By Friday, Curtis and I  may both be too exhausted to function.

I’ll let you know if we need you to make a wake up call.

 

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

