The kindness of strangers

In my life, I have been fortunate enough to have benefited from the kindness of strangers. Like the time when I got into an accident back in grad school – a stranger dialed the phone for me when I was shaking too much to push the numbers myself.

Or last year when we were leaving The Fest and I left my purse and keys out in the field – a stranger found it and waited for me to come back to get it.

Then there was that time when my divorce had just happened and I was struggling holding it together in church one Sunday. A stranger came up, gave me a hug and a tissue.

I’ve tried to return the favor over the years as well. The little girl on the beach who asked me where her “sissy” was – I helped her find her Mom and sister.

The person who I could tell was having a really bad day – I bought them a coffee at Starbucks.

The family that was looking at the LOOONG line for the Toy Story ride at Disney – Zoe and I gave them the Fast Passes we weren’t going to use.

I love when people look out for one another, or do something little and unexpected for a stranger. It helps me believe in the goodness of humanity, especially when the news is filled with stories of troubling times.

Still there are moments, like when I had to step away at Panera this morning and left all of my Thank You cards and gift list at the table (Completely unattended! Next to the fun brown bag I brought them in! And stamps!) where the strangers disappointed me. Seriously, no one thought of taking the darn cards so I would have an excuse for not having them done by now?

People, where are you when a sister needs you…

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in The Low Down on the Hoedown and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

