Thank God he didn’t crawl onto my Coke.

There is something different out here in the country. It’s not the fresh air. It’s not the sound of a rooster. It’s not the smell of flowers everywhere. It’s the bugs.

Actually, the bugs I can handle.

It’s the spiders.

The big, black spiders.

The spiders that know when you are coming and literally will jump from ceiling to floor before scrambling away on very fast legs.

The spiders that know how to hide as you look for where they scrambled.

These spiders are smart. (I am hoping that it’s a sign of how good the schools are in this area.)

I’ve handled the spiders really well until last night. I was working on the computer when Curtis came down the stairs. That’s when I heard the “tick” and saw something small and black scramble on my desk mere inches from where I now sit. That spider made a jump for it and nearly jumped on me.

I’d love to tell you that I – strong, fearless woman that I am – didn’t also jump and scream like a little girl. I’d be lying. I had to stop what I was working on and call it a night after that little spider incident.

I’d also love to tell you that I had no hesitation about sitting here this morning. Thankfully, no one was around to hear me give the spider full warning – in the form of loud voice and stomping of feet – that I was coming to my desk and he should do his whole “spider fleeing” routine away from this area. It wasn’t pretty.

So far, no spider siting. But, if you don’t mind, I am going to keep this short today. I feel like someone (or something) is watching me…

 

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank God he didn’t crawl onto my Coke.

  1. Laura says:

    Little Miss Muffet…

  2. Claire Adams says:

    Last week, a huge house centipede crawled under my door, and I haven’t slept the same since. I know how you feel!

Leave a Reply

