Weeds (and a difference of opinions)

The ground around our home is fertile. Very fertile. So fertile in fact that flowers, plants, herbs and vegetables can self-sow at will. We had lettuce popping up everywhere, more dill that I could ever use, sunflowers sunning their yellow faces around the house, and raspberries growing up from where a pot used to sit. And don’t even get me started about the Morning Glory…we have that climbing up anything and everything.

We even had grape tomatoes growing in the back composing area. They were almost growing better than the tomatoes we planted in the garden.

Back in the spring, the beds around the house were weeded and looked beautiful. That’s when the difference in opinion came up. You see, Curtis doesn’t like mulch (Have I mentioned this before? If so, I apologize. Clearly we have not resolved this problem). In truth, he hates it. Doesn’t like the way it looks. Doesn’t like the cost. Doesn’t like the labor involved.

I like mulch. I don’t like the cost nor the labor, but I like the way it looks. Most importantly, I absolutely LOVE the way it cuts down on weeds.

Curtis doesn’t believe mulch stops weeds from growing or would lessen the amount of weeds in the beds. (I know, how could this country boy be so misguided?) He is adamantly against mulch and insists that we can keep up with weeding and keep the beds just dirt.

Right.

Did you catch the post about him getting up at 3:30 in the morning?

Needless to say, the weeding hasn’t always happened like it should. In fact, our back beds hadn’t been touched since the Spring. It was thicker than a rain forest back there with weeds growing taller than me and Morning Glory strangling the life out of anything it could climb.  I was worried that it might latch onto the girls if they stood to close.

So, yesterday I put on some gloves and went crazy cleaning out the back bed.  I pulled out anything I thought was a weed and several things I knew weren’t but were in the way.  I wrestled with the Morning Glory and, thankfully, won the battle. I said goodbye to 30 Dill plants and nearly all of the lettuce (so high that the leaves were bitter).

At the end of an hour of weeding, my arms were red and blotchy as a result of some plant I’d touched (thanks to Benadryl for helping resolve that),  and I discovered this hiding behind a wall of weeds:

 

Amazing.

Still haven’t convinced Curtis that mulch is the way to go for weed control. I guess if we continue the debate much longer we’ll be able to get mulch on sale, which would be a plus on my side.

And if he wins the debate, we may need you to come rescue all of us from the grips of the Morning Glory.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

