Venti latte with a double shot of laughter

I have a special place in my heart for Starbucks. Well, not every Starbucks really, just the one near my old house and the one next to Nicollini’s (a restaurant where Curtis and I used to meet when we were dating. The Starbucks next door was our dessert place when we didn’t want the date to end…). The Starbucks in Chagrin was my haven back in the dark days of my divorce.  As a newly single stay-at-home mom with two little kids, adult conversations weren’t part of my daily routine. So I would get up early on those Sundays when the girls were with their Dad, go to church at 8 and then spend my morning reading the paper at Starbucks. It was wonderful. I met lots of great people, had good conversations, and I was able to reclaim “Janice” there.

Plus, a $3 latte once every few weeks was cheaper than most other options.

I have a good friend who recently moved into Chagrin who is also learning the single mom life after a tough divorce.  She needs to have a chance to remember who she is outside of the labels that life has put on her.

She needed a Starbucks intervention.

With Curtis having fun mule riding in the middle of Pennsylvania wilderness and the girls having fun with their Dad, this morning was the perfect morning to introduce Kathryn to the wonderful world of Starbucks. Two Venti orders later, we grabbed the window table and relaxed. She got on her computer. I grabbed a paper. 

In the two and a half hours of being there, we ran into a good friend, caught up on happenings in the world (How disturbing about the famine in Africa and what’s happening in Syria. Plus, did you hear about that hot dog warning?!), people watched, dog watched, had our good friend Kristin join us, caught up on the fun things going on in her life, and laughed.

Really laughed.

Which was exactly what Kathryn needed. Heck, it is what we all needed.

So I raise my latte to Starbucks and anyplace that lets you find you again, one Grande at a time.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

