A reassuring arm on the shoulder

In the last 90 minutes, I have had three people comment on how good the school system is for those living out here at the farm. Apparently, I need to hear things that many times to believe it, because that’s what God is sending my way. (I heard someone else saying that in a not so pleasant way, so let’s just keep that fact between you and me, OK?)

Don’t get me wrong – the schools are good, we made sure of that. We could also have sent the girls to the neighboring school district because of open enrollment if we didn’t feel good about them.  We looked at the options and still choose the one around here, so it was a well-thought-out decision.  I guess I have just been nervous about it.

That’s a Mom-thing, right?

Sort of like they are the gifts of childbirth – nervousness, guilt, stress, germaphobia (or at least an acute consciousness of germs everywhere), and lack of money go along with the joy, love and happiness when that baby comes out and the doctor hands him or her to you. They don’t cover that so well in the parenting classes, though. 

The girls, for their part, seem to be OK with the new school thing. It helps that they met some friends in camp last week – always nice to have a familiar face or two in the crowd. I’ll need to make sure that they keep on their paths of peace and not pick up my anxiety as the start of school gets closer.

I think I can do that.

I’ll just need to make sure that they don’t see my face when the school bus pulls away that first day.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

