Dinner is served

Curt’s birthday dinner went very well. I started it off with Caprese Salad and Artesian Garlic bread and dipping sauces. I used balsamic vinegar, but Curtis really liked the Peach vinegar I picked up at F. Olivers in Canandaigua, NY last fall. Delicious!

For a side dish, I made garlic red potatoes(um…yeah, more garlic. If everyone eats garlic then it’s not a problem, right?). They looked good but I still haven’t quite got the knack for the oven here at the farm. After this photo was taken and we started eating it became clear that they needed more time than the additional 20 minutes I gave them. So, I pulled out some broccoli slaw and put these in the over for more time. We’ll enjoy them tonight.

Finally, the star of the dinner – the elk steaks.Both versions turned out well, even if I made the Lupo’s more well done. The bacon wrapped pieces were delicious! Neither had a game-y taste, which is nice because that is a taste that doesn’t get out of your brain/mouth/nose very quickly (three years later and I can still “taste” my first attempt at elk. Ugh.). These could probably fool people into not knowing that they were eating elk beyond the fact that it is a much more lean meat.

For dessert, I gave Curtis a birthday dessert platter complete with a mini versions of key lime pie, apple pie, chocolate truffle cake, and carrot cake. The look on his face when he got his dessert was great!

What? You’re wondering where is the lovely picture of this spectacular dessert platter? Let’s just say that soon after I brought it in and sang Happy Birthday there wasn’t much more than crumbs left to take a picture.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

