Aw hail….

Today was supposed to be a very productive day around the house. I bought some paint yesterday with the plan of getting up early and getting the kitchen looking a little bit nicer by the end of the day.

Unfortunately, when I got home from the store, I noticed that my front tire was worn badly…really badly…um, scary badly. So bad that I got a little mad at poor Curtis for not noticing how bad the tires were that the love of his life and two precious little ones were frolicking the countryside in. (I quickly apologized.) That meant an early get up time to get new tires on the van.

I woke up early, alright. The first Severe Thunderstorm alert text came to my phone before Curt’s alarm went off at 3:30.  Then came another about flash flood warning. There was a big storm headed straight for us.

The lightening was vibrantly flashing for nearly an hour before the first rain began to fall. Normally that isn’t a big deal, but knowing that we were clearly in line for the storm meant that it was moving really, really slowly.

Within 5 minutes of the rain starting, the hail started.  We had peanut-sized hail for 15 minutes. Poor town near us had golf ball-sized hail hit them…

The rain ended by the time I left to get new tires. The driveway was a small stream while the ditch at the road was a big river. The neighbor a few houses down may need to clean out the pipe under the drive or our road will be a small lake the next time a big storm comes through.

Two and a half hours (and a whole lot of money) later, I have new tires and an oil change. 

Nearly noon and I have to make a decision. Do I really try to get the kitchen painted on my own? Or do I postpone the project one more time?

Don’t you ever get the feeling that there are some projects that just get postponed so many times that you one day wake up 5 years later and it’s still on your to-do list? What frustrates me even more is when said project would really only take a few hours to do once you get it started – which is infinitely shorter than the combination of moments of stress thinking about the project when you postpone it over those years.

I guess I just figured out what I am going to do today.  Where’s my brush?

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aw hail….

  1. Shannon Gemmill says:

    Time–not to mention the time you write about said project! I SO know how you’re feeling!

Leave a Reply

