Black, White, Silver, and Crispy Gingersnap

I’ve had quite a bit of color come into my life over the last four days.

It started on Friday when I stopped typing and picked up the paint brush to finally turn the kitchen from white walls and wallpaper glue remnants to something warmer in color. Curtis had helped pick out the colors the previous day (although he might not have realized that it was THE color decision…). I was prepping and painting from about noon until 9 that night. When Curtis came home, I think he was a little concerned but willing to trust that I knew what I was doing.

Foolish guy.

Saturday was an early wake up call (I mean 3 am early) to help family members with moving. It’s tough enough to be coherent that early in the morning, but add to it less than 1/10 mile visibility because of fog and I was hurting. As Yukon Cornelius would say, “It was thicker than peanut butter!” (“You mean pea soup,” corrects Herby. “You eat what you like and I’ll eat what I like,” replies Yukon. – sorry I had that scene from Rudolph the Red Nose reindeer in my brain that whole morning and I needed to get it out somehow.)

Thankfully the fog wasn’t so bad once I got closer to Cleveland and was gone over on the west side. Eight hours of driving, 4 hours of heaving lifting, and views of Ohio from North to South later, I was home.

When I got home I was greeted by a black-eyed husband. Apparently, good ol’ Spike is partly to blame again. Curtis had caught Spike and was putting his halter on when Ike and Donny nipped him. Spike turned his head quickly…into Curt’s eye/face, knocking him to the ground.

I asked Curtis if he saw stars or tweety birds – he saw stars. I saw the need for all of us to wear hockey helmets around Spike from now on.

Sunday was crunch time. Church and the grocery store were musts, along with getting the kitchen completely painted  with two coats of the lighter color, Arizona, and three of the darker Crispy Gingersnap.

Seriously, Crispy Gingersnap. I want to be the person who comes up with names like that for paint. How fun would that job be?

Cola fizz

Fresh hay bale

Grape extravaganza (Zoe’s contribution)

OK, maybe it is tougher than you’d think to come up with those crazy, yet descriptive names for paint.

Thankfully, we got some help midway through the day in the form of Curt’s cousin. He saved the day by bringing more Crispy Gingersnap paint (didn’t realize that I’d need more than a quart for one wall), helped on the pasture fence, and assisted Curtis with the final coat on the Crispy Gingersnap while I went to get the girls.

Having not seen the girls in a week, it was a wonderful reunion, with one exception. Zoe has two loose teeth that I was sure – absolutely sure – that at least one would have fallen out by the time I picked them up. Nope. Both were still in. Worse yet, one was hanging on by a string so it was popping out of her mouth even when it was closed.

It was like it was saying “na nana na na” to us. It was driving me crazy.

I did the only thing I could think of – I told her I’d give her a dollar if it was out by the end of the day Monday. So she started wiggling it…and pushing it…and twisting it.

And I had thought the taunting tooth was bad…

Finally, just as we were leaving for a cookout on Monday, it popped out. Thank you, Lord. The tooth made its way into the little tooth fairy doll’s pouch for the night. When we woke up the next morning, instead of the tooth there was a coin in its place.

The girls love that the tooth fairy will often bring coins from other lands for them. They have currency from Argentina, Cayman Islands, some Euros, and Canadian coins. So getting a British Shilling wasn’t out of the ordinary.

Zoe was curious about its value so we looked it up. Turns out, the tooth fairy left us a 1957 Scottish Shilling silver coin. Really.

Thinking with the way precious metal prices have gone up, I may pull out some of my own teeth to see what that tooth fairy would bring me…

 

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

