falling off the face of the earth, or at least the internet

I’ve had quite a week. The last post on Monday chronicled our basement disaster from last weekend. This week has been filled with the normal craziness with the recovery work from the flood mixed in. Dehumidifiers that need to be emptied twice a day, fans running constantly, toys that need washing.  I haven’t been able to put the computer on all week because I would overload the one breaker downstairs, plus I didn’t have time. I’ve spent hours hanging papers, books, scrapbook pages and anything else that needed drying from the lines I hung up in the basement above the dehumidifiers.

The books have been a 50/50 proposition with the recovery efforts. Some – especially some of the “special books” that were the girls’ favorites as babies – didn’t make it at all. Very sad throwing those out. Others have made it but have the wavy pages associated with once waterlogged books. I guess those will just be reminders of this period of our lives that we’ll be able to laugh about someday.

Notice I said someday.

Not quite today.

The chaos of all of the stuff that is upstairs is driving me crazy. There are dolls and dress up clothes in the dining room, “friends” (aka, stuffed animals) in the living room, photos everywhere, toys taking over the kitchen and the garage floor is nowhere to be seen.  Ugh.

On a positive note, I found some of the IKEA hardware I had been missing, the storage area is much more organized, and we’ve been able to get all of the trash out as of this morning. Yippee!

This weekend will be a quiet weekend….a very quiet weekend…so hopefully I will get the basement floor cleaned and maybe even get the furniture back in place. I also have to mow the field, er, make that the lawn. That lovely rain last week has the grass up to nearly my knees in some spots. There are a few other projects that were on the To Do list that may get done…or they might just have to wait.

The Country Boy is hopefully having fun reconnecting with nature and some elk.  Right now, I’m looking forward to his reconnecting with the family, the tractor and cleaning supplies.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

