Calgon, take me away…

OK, I admit that I may be showing my age with that title, but frankly that’s how I feel. Remember that commercial from way back in the 70’s/80’s? The woman was surrounded by chaos when she says, “Calgon, take me away!” and she’s instantly in a nice frothy bathtub? I was a kid back then and didn’t fully appreciate her quandary or her desire to escape it that would lead her to shout out the name of a soap.

Right about now, I’d be willing to shout out anyone’s name to get out of this mess.

I spent the weekend working on basement disaster recovery. There were several surprises along the way, including:

  • books and doll clothes that I didn’t realize were wet. Clothes were saved. Books were done.
  • Lego creations that needed to be completely dismantled because water was trapped in between the individual blocks. Thank you, Target, for the deal on lingerie bags (2 for .30!) because I needed them to wash the gazillion Lego blocks that I spent an hour working to unstack.
  • spiders that found homes in several items we hauled out to the garage. Picking up a “friend” (ie, stuffed animal) and finding a giant spider – you know, the kind that crunch when you kill them – nearly put me over the edge. It also meant that I had to carefully go through everything brough in from the garage because had the girls discovered a spider like that, I don’t know that they’d ever recover.
  • mounds of toys and tchotchke accumulated by two little girls over the years that needed to be organized. Everything from pet rocks and balls of all shapes and sizes to tiny slips of papers with messages to friends was picked through and categorized into baskets or pitched.

Those tasks alone took up much of Friday, all of Saturday, and several hours on Sunday. Mixed in was a quick 3 hour trip to get the hardware for my guest bed that has been missing since the move (specialty hardware only available at the store), the girls first soccer games, and mowing the lawn.

It was mowing the lawn that broke my get ‘er done momentum. About 45 minutes in, the lawn tractor started making horrible noises and I had to shut it down for fear of blowing the motor.

When I looked around me, I saw that the lawn was a mishmash of cut and uncut areas. Lovely showplace of landscaping, let me tell you. I never realized the crazy patterns I make when lawn mowing until that moment.  Honestly, anyone flying over our property may have thought it was crop circles created by aliens since the uncut grass was super long and my mowing style so wacky.  Keeping it looking like that until Curtis gets home was not my ideal.

I remember wishing that we had a new mower – one that I wouldn’t need to jumpstart and one that was able to mow the rest of my lawn. That’s when it hit me how far I have come.

I used to dream about trips to far away places. I used to desire a new car. I used to wish for tickets to a great play or gallery opening.  

Now I wish for a tractor.

Does anyone know if they still make Calgon?  I need a large supply delivered to the farm.

 

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Calgon, take me away…

  1. Shannon Gemmill says:

    I tried to find you Calgon at CVS and Giant Eagle-to no avail. Would you settle for Mr. Bubbles? 🙂

Leave a Reply

