My Old Kentucky Home

Muzzleloader weekend in Kentucky.

If that sentence means nothing to you, then you were where I was four years ago. I had no idea what a muzzleloader was nor did I have a clue about why they’d have a whole weekend for it in Kentucky (or any other state for that matter).

Then a country boy comes into my life and I learn that there are more than just four seasons in a year. There are seemingly hundreds more, actually. And one of them is muzzleloader deer season.

So, pack the bags. Gas up the van. It’s time for a road trip to Kentucky to stay with relatives and spend hours in a tree stand.

I was all in for the packing and such, but the hours in the woods is not my style. I left that to the boys and wandered the Kentucky countryside.

Now, Curtis did allow for a full day of adventuring with me (so sweet!) so we headed to Mammoth Cave on Friday. The last time I was there I was a very little girl visiting it with my family. I remember glimpses of the Frozen Niagara from that trip. Curtis had never been so we opted for the 4.5 hour tour that covered 4 miles of cave. Very interesting.

When we finally got to the Frozen Niagara I realized why that’s the part of the cave we visited back when I was a kid. It was literally steps from one of the entrances to the cave – and when you’re parents with 9 kids in tow, the less chances you give for one of those kids to wander away or hide in a small side cave the better.

My parents are smart people.

Saturday was the hunt day, so I took the day for myself and explored the countryside near Lexington.  This area is gorgeous! The sunrise over the farms was beautiful.  Crisp, clear air, cloudless sky. If you ever get a chance to spend time down in Kentucky, I highly recommend it.

Being a fan of Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives on the Food Network, I knew that there were some restaurants in the Frankfort/Lexington area that Guy had visited. I knew I wanted to check a few out, plus make a stop at one of the distilleries to pick up a Christmas present, and visit with my nephew who lives down there. So, with camera in tow, I ventured out:

Wallace Station was the breakfast stop. It’s tucked out in the middle of farms so finding it was a challenge. I’m glad I stuck with it and found it.

An absolutely delicious Panini sandwich that was enormous (I was glad I had a cooler because I could save half for Sunday’s breakfast) was what was waiting for me when I finally found the place.  I will say that the service wasn’t friendly and make sure to bring your coat (it was freezing in there!), but one bite will convince you that it was worth those minor inconveniences. Yummmmm…

Wallace Station worked out especially well with my next stop, Woodford Reserve Distillery, because it was only 15 minutes away. I stopped here because:

1) it’s the most beautiful distillery in the whole Bourbon Trail

2) I have a person who loves Bourbon on my family Christmas list

3) Being able to knock off one gift while sipping Bourbon and looking at the beautiful countryside is impossible to pass up.

See what I mean?

Once I got inside the distillery, I made my gift purchase right away. As I was waiting for it to be finished, I struck up a conversation with one of the tour guides. Turns out, she’s from the very area in Ohio we’re from! She moved to Kentucky for college 49 years ago and stayed to teach. Once she retired from teaching, she started working part-time as a tour guide. She was so very sweet – she set me up for a private viewing of the tour video and talked with me on the porch about the functions of the different limestone buildings on the property. She also got me set up for a tasting.

Yes, it was 9:30 in the morning, but seriously how could I say no?

I also met one of the Distillery’s VIPs…or should I say VIA…

Meet Labrot, the resident cat named after one of the founders.

After a lengthy conversation with Labrot, I headed to Lexington to see Matt and Katie’s new digs. Cute home with a lovely yard. Hopefully it will be filled with little people in the coming years.

Matt, having lived in Lexington for probably a good 5+ years, had never heard of the place I wanted to take him for lunch. Another Diners, Drive-ins and Dives place that was easier to find and had friendlier servers.  JJ McBrewster’s didn’t disappoint with their barbecue. The Brisket I ate was wonderful.

Now, on the show, Guy ate their Mutton and Goat sandwiches. Ummm…I’m getting more and more “country” every day on the farm, but I have to draw the line somewhere.

Maybe by next muzzleloader season I’ll be ready to try those.

Or try sitting in a tree stand all day.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

