Open the door slowly just so you aren’t suprised…

That’s what Curtis said on the phone with me this morning when I was heading out to water and feed the mules on my own. Not exactly what I was hoping to hear but I’ve heard worse (like that phone call on Tuesday as I was leaving work…).

Curtis had to help a friend near the camp this morning so we decided that, since he had to drop off Eli the Amish Guy (Poor Eli. I just can’t say his name without adding that afterwards) late last night, it made no sence for him to drive back home only to turn around in the morning to drive back east. So, he spent the night back in PA with family.

Great news for saving on gas.

Bad news for a city girl.

We were able to get the mules into their barn stalls yesterday, which was nice. The mixture of three mules and a week of daily rain made the small pasture a muddy mess. They needed to dry off their feet and we needed to let that pasture recover.

Getting them into the barn was an easy task and they seem to like their new quarters. The only thing that freaked me out was when Curtis said that he didn’t think they’d try jumping the gate wall.

I had no idea that was even a possibility.

So, when he reminded me to go through the man door and open it slowly because there could be mules loose inside the barn, well…umm…let’s just say I was starting my Sunday praying a little early today.

Thankfully, mules were in their spots. They were happy to see me because I was bringing them food and water. I got a similar reaction from Madeline and Zoe when I put breakfast down on the table this morning.

Hmmm…I had told Curtis that I’m in charge of feeding the family and he’s in charge of feeding the mules…but the mules eat hay and love it while my girls can get picky about their meals…

I might need to rethink this feeding thing and learn to embrace my inner cowgirl.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

