What it’s like to be a VIP in Country Boy’s world

This was in the mail yesterday:

The monster-sized Cabela 2011 catalog

Actually, it wasn’t really IN the mail because it was too big for the mailbox. Plus, considering it is a hardback book, the mailman couldn’t exactly bend it to make it fit. So, it was wrapped in a plastic bag and secured to our mailbox flag.

At first, I had no idea what it was. The last time I saw a catalog like this it was back in the day when Sears Roebuck used to publish a giant catalog. Those were soft cover, though. This thing is a 500 1287 (I stand corrected) page hard cover text book of all things outdoors.

What concerns me is two things:

1. It says Fall 2011 – you mean they publish this more than once a year?! My first thought was “Could that be why hunting gear costs so much?”

and 2. It says “Thank you – to a very special customer”…Now, I’m thinking that Cabela’s doesn’t send these out to every hunter in America, so what did my Country Boy do to get on their VIP list?

Whatever he did, he was smiling when I told him that it came. The girls enjoyed looking through it this morning and checking out all of the gear. And I suppose it could almost be like an encyclopedia for us City Girls on all things hunting/camping.

That way maybe  “what’s that thingamajig?” won’t be a daily question for me anymore.

Now if only I could find a catalog or book for my Country Boy to use as a reference for dealing with City Girls…

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What it’s like to be a VIP in Country Boy’s world

  1. Laura says:

    That would be the Nordstrom catalog.

Leave a Reply

