If the treats are this big, what are the tricks like?

Monday was our first country Halloween. With our long driveway, we figured no one would make that walk, so we positioned Sally the Scarecrow at the end of the drive along with our pumpkins and a big bowl of candy to act as our representative while the girls and I went out.

[editor’s note: I took photos, but I haven’t had a chance to upload them and, if I waited to post until that happened, it would probably be Thanksgiving before you read this.]

Now, in our old neighborhood in the city world, they had security guards blocking the entrances because car loads full of teens would come in to celebrate Halloween.  A majority of the houses were decorated to the extreme and parents got lots of treats along with the kids. Still, for as “city” as I call it, it was more quaint than regular city and had no sidewalks and no street lights on skinny, hilly roads. It started later, so at least 50% of the it was done in darkness. Halloween night was fun there, but I had to make sure my girls were outfitted with reflective gear and flashlights to keep them safe from cars. I also had to stay alert to keep them safe from the roving groups of teens (not that the teens would hurt them but that the girls might get knocked down because they were so small they wouldn’t be seen).

On the contrast, country trick or treating was done in mostly daylight. On our street, only about 60% of the houses had their porch lights on or were at the end of the drive handing out candy.

“Oh, that’s too bad,” you’re thinking. “Madeline and Zoe must not have had much candy this year.”

That would’ve been my thought had the first house we’d gone to given them full-sized bars.

I started to worry that our Sally the Scarecrow would be in danger when the trick-or-treaters saw we only had the “fun sized” bars.

The third house gave the girls smaller sized bars – great! – but they came in a gift box with a dozen other pieces of candy – oh no, Sally…

At the fifth house, the husband and wife both gave the girls scooping handfuls of candy.

When we got to the house that gave away the KING sized candy bars, I was ready to put a sheet over my head and start trick-or-treating myself.

Then again, maybe I should have dressed like Scrooge given the tiny candies I had set out.

Thankfully, in addition to being generous with their candy, country folk are forgiving in nature too. Sally was safe when we got home. Our pumpkins were, too.

And, amazingly enough, our candy bowl was still half full.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If the treats are this big, what are the tricks like?

  1. Pierotucci says:

    I was hoping for a few trick or treaters this year…but no luck (means I will have to eat all the candy by myself.) However that is a great idea about the scarecrow, but I fear if I do that in the Italian countryside where I live only the wild boar would enjoy the treats!!
    http://www.pierotucci.wordpress.com

    • Janice says:

      Wild boars?! And I thought the mules were an issue. I didn’t think about the coyotes and foxes around us getting into the bowl at all – they seen to busy checking out the hens to notice.

      I did joke with my girls that, on Halloween, all of the animals and insects also get into costume…as other animals. So the fly on the wall was really a spider. The cats were now dogs for a day, etc. Wonder what your wild boars dressed liked?

      • Pierotucci says:

        ….they are kind of king of the forest here, so my thoughts are that they wouldn’t even bother!! However if they really felt compelled to dress up, it would probably be something that the local hunters wouldn’t want to shoot at – like a squirrel or porcupine.

Leave a Reply

