Dark shadows

I left the office needing to go to the bathroom.

(Seriously, I am sorry that I led off this story with that information, but it explains where I was when what happened happened.)  

Two and a half hours later, the girls and I finally got home after much running around and I still needed to go.

I brought in my stuff, got the groceries away, set down my cell phone on the kitchen counter and ran upstairs to the loo. Not more than 30 seconds later, the girls were in my room completely scared.

Zoe had seen someone looking at her through the front door just off the kitchen.

[Side note: The one thing that I have always said would freak me out would be to look outside a window at night and see someone staring in. Starting at a young age, I literally trained myself NOT to look outside dark windows at night. My old, old house used to have a wall of windows with woods in the back. At night I would sometimes run from the kitchen to my room to avoid the windows. I am sorry that poor Zoe was the one to see the person, but it at least kept me from turning into a blubbering, shrieking ball of goo had I seen him and preserved some sense of leadership and control for the time being.]

They locked the door to the bedroom and climbed under my bed covers. I realized three things right away:

  1. I was smart and actually locked the garage door behind me rather than keeping it open for when the Country Boy got home. That meant all of the doors and windows were locked.
  2. I left my cell phone – and all my phone numbers – downstairs
  3. There was NO way that the girls were going to let me go downstairs, or unlock the bedroom door, or do anything but climb into the bed with them. I didn’t mind that part of the situation too much because I was tired from running around all day.

I called Curtis, who was still 30 minutes away, to let him know what was happening. He believed Zoe right away, which was nice. He called one neighbor to see if they’d seen anything before he got home and then walked around the property. He didn’t see anything, but it was reassuring that he looked.

The girls were still very scared. We went into their room, checked their closet, under the bed, the wardrobe, behind the curtains – everywhere they thought someone could lurk.

They were still scared.

We offered to leave my cell phone with them for the night. Nope. Still scared.

Finally, in a flash of brilliance, I remembered that I still had baby monitors kicking around the house. I popped the monitor in their room and the receiver in mine. That did the trick as they were asleep within 5 minutes.

Country boy slept like a rock, too.

I, on the other hand, was awake off and on all night.  The peace and quiet of country life doesn’t seem so pleasant right now.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dark shadows

  1. Pingback: New addition (or: What was I thinking…) | CountryBoyCityGirls

Leave a Reply

