Not my typical post

It’s the word that seems to be dominating my life (and, if I think about some of the top stories in the news, in everyone’s life) in the last few weeks, and especially the last few days:

Choices.

We all face ’em. We all make ’em. We all have to live with the outcomes that our choices create for us. 

There are those times when our choices get called out by others. They question our thinking, our decision-making, our integrity with their analyzing of why we chose to do what we do. (OK, sometimes they may just innocently wonder why we picked to eat bread dipped in vinegar and oil as a snack rather than something more typical. That’s not the type of called-on-the-carpet type of questioning I was thinking of…)

Sometimes the examination of choices is easy. Other times, it can be full of pressure and discomfort if the decisions you make don’t jibe with what was expected or conflict with what others wanted.

Then there are times when we do the questioning. I have to admit that I can be a critical judge of other’s choices at times. If I feel like the choices someone else made hurt my girls, I can be downright brutal in looking at whether the choice was justifiable or not. I realize it is a little bit of the Momma Bear syndrome, but I am still trying to tame it down a notch or two.

Recently I needed to carefully examine – and faced questioning by others – on some of the critical life choices that I’ve made. That helped me boil down some of the big ones, like:

  • To be a Mom. Love it. Wouldn’t change it. Get mad when other things get into my way or keep me from doing things for/with my girls. I put the girls and my role as Mom at the top of my list.
  • To be a Catholic. This choice was originally made for me by my parents, but I’ve embraced it as an adult. My faith means a lot to me. It has helped me stay positive and look for the goodness in others. It is something that I want to pass down to the girls.
  • To give back. Connected with the previous choice. When life handed me lemons, I made the choice to  make lemonade and shared the recipe with others. Plus, it helps me remember how blessed I am.
  • To keep learning everyday. It doesn’t have to be through traditional ways, but I like to keep my brain fresh and keep the information gathering flowing. Again, an example I want to set for the girls.

And last, but certainly not least:

  • To marry a Country Boy who likes to hunt and owns mules.  There are times when I question myself about the wisdom of this choice when that last little part gets added…just kidding (mostly). Seriously, love is a choice and it is one that you have to make every day. Being a wife, keeping the needs of another at the top of your priorities, is not a choice to be made lightly. 

No matter what, I try to keep myself accountable for my choices, even when they turn out to be bad choices or have ramifications that were unseen when made. It is a part of my inner core to own up to my choices. And it can absolutely infuriate me when someone doesn’t own up to their choices.

So here’s to choices. May you always have the wisdom to make good ones and courage to make the difficult ones.

And lots of yummy bread to dip into your F. Oliver’s oils and vinegar when you want to make a delicious one.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

