A hole in my heart (or hole-y #&*$)

Have you ever had a pair of jeans that were just perfect for your body?

The ones that, dress up/dress down, you always wanted to wear because they just felt great?

The jeans that, over time, became so soft and faded that they were perfectly comfortable?

I have a pair of jeans like that and I wear them constantly when I have a chance. They’re my faithful friend when I am slender from running and eating correctly or…um…not so slender when it is post-Halloween and I am eating candy for breakfast, lunch and dinner (and snack, and pre-bed treat, and well, you get the point). They are like a good friend.

Or they were.

I just pulled my favorite jeans out of the dryer and, to my horror, there is a hole near the seam in a very “inconvenient” spot. Certainly not a spot you’d want a hole, nor one that looks cool and designer made.

I am mortified.

One, because seriously, how long has that hole been there and I didn’t realize it? Embarrassing! I have to believe I would’ve noticed a breeze, but maybe not. If any friends can confirm that, yes, indeed they saw the hole before then…well, I can’t believe you let me walk around thinking I was “all that” when I had a hole on the backside of my pants.

The other reason I am mortified was that the maker of this jean is no longer in business. Haven’t been for several years.

A quick search of ebay yielded a few results but nothing like my faithful friend.

I knew that this love affair would end someday. Either that last Kit Kat would push it over the edge and the poor button and zipper would expolde in spectacular fashion or the repeated washings would wear away the cotton. I just wasn’t ready for it to be today.

So, I go forward with some other good jeans to wear. Not bad one, just not like this pair. Maybe, if I’m lucky enough I’ll find another pair that fit me as well as this pair did.

And, those days when I am staying on the farm and know that I won’t really be interacting with anyone but the four-legged family members, I might just pull my old favorite jeans out and enjoy their company again.

I’ll just be sure to wear blue underwear that day.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A hole in my heart (or hole-y #&*$)

  1. Pingback: Maybe I need to train for a marathon? | CountryBoyCityGirls

Leave a Reply

