You light up my life

The Country Boy and I spent the better part of today working on getting the prestrung lights on the Christmas tree to work and, after much effort, decided to scrap the strand on the top section and restring it. It took me over 30 minutes to unstring the prestrung lights in that little section. That got me thinking:

How do they prestring the lights on the trees in the first place? Are there poor women in impoverished countries who labor day in and day out putting lights on artificial trees so we can buy new ones when we blow out a section of lights on the tree we bought last year? Are they cursing the person who came up with the idea of marketing prestrung trees as much as I was this afternoon? And do they get to the point where they hate Christmas trees? Could that be the link to world peace and religious harmony?

[Clearly I had lots of time to think.]

I found myself missing the days when I had a really big, really old artificial tree that someone passed down to me. It was so much simpler to just string the lights on myself as I put the pieces parts together.

Of course, I also miss the days of having a real tree. I grew up with that tradition and had wanted to keep it alive but the cost of real trees and the hazzards it posed along with the major mess it created pushed me to the artificial tree route around the time I had the girls and I haven’t waivered.

I had thought briefly about starting a new tradition now that we are out in the country and go back to getting real trees. After all, it seems like that would fit so much better into a farm life with the Country Boy.

I just don’t have the heart to switch trees after all of the work he did on those blasted lights today…

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

