Lady in waiting

For the last two weeks I have been waiting to hear some news that could have a major impact on my life. For a woman for whom control is a comfort zone, this has been a lesson in patience and letting go.

I’ve tried to keep it in perspective. I have a friend who just had her first child. That type of expectant waiting was fun and a little anxious-filled. You couldn’t wait to see that little one, but wondered what type of labor experience you’d have. After that first kid, you know exactly what you’re getting into when it comes to the labor so you don’t mind the nine month wait… (and I had great labors!)

I also have a friend who thought she was done with kids but was “late” and had been waiting to see if God had a little surprise in store for her and her husband. Talk about anxiety… She just found out that her family of four is staying as is for now.

There’s the waiting for Christmas that is starting to rev up. We decorated the (mostly) lit Christmas tree last night. We’ll find spots for all of the other decorations over the next few evenings. My girls aren’t the type to look for the gifts stashed around the house (or at least they haven’t in the past). Still, as the days of Advent pass by, the waiting for them gets harder and harder.

The Country Boy is waiting for that big buck to show himself. He waited all day Monday and half of Tuesday for him.

I’m sure the buck is waiting for deer season to be over.

The mules are waiting for the gates on the larger pasture so they can stretch out their legs a little more. Goldie the chicken will be happy to have her quiet roosting spots back. She runs around my feet every time I give the mules hay.

All Buffalo and Cleveland sports fans (I’m lumped in with both of those) are waiting for teams that might actually win a Championship. Frankly, at this point, I’d settle for a winning season. Or even a game.

 We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.
Joseph Campbell

OK, Joe. I’ll let go of that Bills Super Bowl victory dream. I’ll let go of a perfectly decorated house. I’ll let go of the idea of the Country Boy getting his prized trophy deer/elk/bear/turkey/whatever on the very first day of the season. I’ll let go of the anxiety of someone else making a decision that directly impacts me.

As long as they have good snacks in the waiting room of life.

Now, where’s my Coke and chocolate?

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

