The invisible woman

I am sure that I am not alone.

Across the country there are many wives who have become widowed by the call of the wild.

Whose husbands sit for so long in high deer stands that you start to consider buying them supplemental oxygen tanks for Christmas.

Where scent eliminating laundry detergent and shower washes become must-haves on the grocery trips.

It is when I started considering wearing these

and wearing animal pelts for clothing in order to be noticed that I got concerned.

The Country Boy and I actually had a chance to eat dinner with one another last night. He told me about one of the hunting partners he had while out yesterday. Turns out this guy goes straight into rabbit season when the deer season is over. A pleased with himself look came over his face…

I asked the question I had hoped could save me, “Is he married?”

Unfortunately, the response was, “Yep. With kids.”

Two thoughts flashed in my brain – “that’s one serious hunting widow, poor gal” and “rabbit pelts would be much softer to wear than deer…”

Heaven help me.

 

 

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

