Signs, signs, everywhere signs

Late last week, I was at a real crossroads when it came to the dog.

I was really trying to give him a chance to work his way into our lives.

But it seemed like the more I tried, the more signs I saw that seemed to point towards a different outcome.

I talked with friends about it. All gave wise advice. Unfortunately, it was for both sides of the coin.

I prayed. And prayed. Annnnnnnnd prayed.

I think I may have annoyed God.

I asked for a sign. Any sign. Just make it one that will have me know for sure.

I told a friend about my prayer for a sign. She told me to be careful because it’d have to be a big one considering all of the ones I had missed already.

Still, nothing really came.

Unless you count the time that Riley got super muddy just before I needed to leave for a meeting. I got his paws washed and opened the door to dump out the muddy water only to have him jump out the door and get 4 inches deep in the mud again.

I was certain that was the sign I was looking for until I saw Madeline petting him with a huge smile on her face later that night.

So, Friday, I thought I would take the big guy out of a long walk on a wooded path to see two things – one, how is he in the car and, two, maybe a long walk and talk is what we both needed to finally see the light about our long-term relationship.

The day was lovely. The walk was long. Really long. Six miles long.

Really, I didn’t necessarily mean to walk six miles with him, but well, I had eaten Buffalo chicken pasta the night before and the closest bathroom was situated such that we had to keep going.

Maybe that was a sign.

Maybe it was a sign to not eat Buffalo Chicken Pasta and then go for a long walk in the woods. At least that’s what it seemed like Riley was telling me.

Once that business was over, we had a nice time on our walk.

He really is a great dog.

So, by Saturday night, I was ready to make my decision. The girls had made their vote known – both rated having a dog as a 7 on a 1-10 scale. I guess I was ready to embrace my inner dog woman.

We told the girls last night that Riley was with us for good.

They were happy. Lots of petting, tail wagging and giggles when they saw him again after hearing the news.

It seemed like the right decision after all. We all went to bed full of peace and contentment and a sense of confidence that I can be a dog person.

And woke up to a dog that had an “accident” in his crate.

God certainly does have a sense of humor. And a way with throwing a few curve balls in life to keep me humble.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Signs, signs, everywhere signs

  1. 7theaven says:

    Had laughs all along!

  2. Susan Adams says:

    Yah! A new addition to the family! Congratulations!! Can’t wait to meet him! Sue

Leave a Reply

