A post about nothing

My days normally look something like this:

  • Wake up
  • Freak out from all of stuff on my to do list.
  • Scramble to get all of the projects done.
  • Eat not so healthy stuff because I didn’t have time to make a good lunch.
  • Start to feel better about how my to do list is fairing because of all the scrambling I’ve done.
  • Freak out some more when the girls return home from school with more projects.
  • Eat more not so healthy stuff because I’m stressed and craving comfort foods.
  • Scramble to get more done
  • Go to bed feeling like an omelette.

So when one of the girls got sick, it would throw a monkey wrench into my life because I would stress about all of the things not getting done.

But a funny thing happened three weeks ago when Zoe had several days of high fever but no other sickness symptoms. She and I just chilled out. We played board games, read books, relaxed on the sofa, and generally just spent three quiet days together. I was in heaven.

Granted, I didn’t get paid for those days I missed work, she had homework and school work to make up, and there was a pile of errands on my to do list that I had to get done. Still, there must be something about this country living that finally had me find my inner Type B.

So when she got sick again last night (and I mean SICK) I knew that there would be at least one silver lining to the scenario – another day at home when “to do” lists and projects had to go on hold.Pretty much how we spent the day - on the sofa

We got Madeline off to school. We got Riley to get some business off his to do list. And then the three of us “chillaxed” as Zoe calls it. We sat on the sofa together and just let the day pass by while she let her body recover. We watched some snow fall gently on the grass. We read books side by side and told each other some of the funny things that happened. I listened to her soft breathing while she napped. We both chuckled at Riley’s snores.

In my old life, I would have looked scornfully at a day like today. I would have berated myself for wasting a perfectly good opportunity to do stuff. I admit that this post was even a bit tough for me to write because I thought, “I didn’t really do anything, so what’s the point of writing?”

But I am writing about it because I want to embrace “down time.” I want to remind myself of how nice it feels to live life in the slow lane. I want to encourage other Type A’s to try bringing their over scheduled lives down a notch.

Plus, writing a new post was on my “to do” list.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A post about nothing

  1. Jenny Turner says:

    As you get OLDER I hope you learn to do more CHILLAXING!! Have a great day today!
    Love you!
    And to Zoe…Feel better real soon, and drink plenty of fluids.

Leave a Reply

