Finding bliss (or: If I stand on my head, will you wear this shirt?)

Valentine’s Day. You either love it or hate it.chocolates...must eat chocolates...

I’ve mostly loved it, mainly because I like chocolate and, well, if I didn’t have someone around who gave me chocolates on the 14th, I knew I could get some really cheap starting on the 15th.

It pays to be on the practical side of romantic.

As an aside, the first Valentine’s Day I spent with the Country Boy, he gave me a half pound solid chocolate heart AND three pounds of chocolate candies. Yes, three pounds. I was ready to marry him right then.

This morning, my sweet Country Boy did something that was extremely romantic…

Before leaving for work, he fed the dog and made sure he did his business (Riley, that is. I’m thinking that the Country Boy did his business, too, but that’s not something I usually concern myself with).

Bliss, right?

For my part, I made him a nice lunch (which, apparently in my swooning days of dating him I had promised to make his lunch EVERY DAY – or so he reminds me. I can’t fathom making such a promise knowing full well how early that guy gets up every morning. I must have been delirious at the time – maybe from too much chocolate). Included in the lunch were three homemade chocolate covered strawberries. Yum.

The girls got pink, heart-shaped pancakes, strawberry yogurt and their own chocolate covered strawberry for breakfast.

Riley nearly got Zoe’s breakfast, but we are getting wise to his tactics (follow me to the stairs to make sure I go up before heading into the kitchen for mischief) and saved it in time.

The Country Boy had left us each cards and a small present for Madeline and Zoe. He’s not one to use lots of words – a stereotypical strong, silent type – but he always picks out the most sentimental cards. Today, no exception.  I was all teary eyed.

Life was good.

And then it was time for all of us to get dressed.

I don’t know what life is like in your home, your family. For us, picking out what to wear has always been the root of many painful mornings for one of my darling children since around the time she could talk. I’ve tried every trick imaginable – pick out clothes the night before, let her wear mismatched clothes, let her wear short-sleeved shirts on frigid cold days, let her wear the same outfit nearly every day for a week, let her lovey (known to others as a stuffed animal) pick out her outfit, demand that she wear particular clothes, bribe her to wear particular clothes, make her pay for clothes she promised to wear when she tried them on at the store and then refused to wear the moment I cut the tags and washed them – seriously, do I need to go on?

So, trying to pre-empt the unpleasantness, we agreed last week that today she’d wear a really cute shirt that’s perfect for Valentine’s Day. 

Remind me next time to get video of her making promises because the blissful morning metamorphosed into a day of crying, spazzing, and lunacy (and I’m talking about me – I won’t even describe my child’s behavior).

Things had cooled down by the time the bus came and, in hindsight, I see ways I can handle it better in the future. By the time they get back from school, we’ll all be ready to be blissful again.

Especially if a three-pound box of chocolates finds its way to my house again…

Happy Valentine’s Day to you. May you have your share of bliss today, too.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, Parenthood, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

