At least there are no words wasted…

Approximately five hours and twelve minutes in the car, round trip.

About four hours at the meeting they’re headed to today.

All of that time within an arm’s length of his two brothers.

And, without a doubt, the answer to any of my questions regarding any component of the personal lives of those brothers – even the most basic that you’d think would come up in conversation – will be the same as it was before he left this morning:

 “I don’t know.”

Twenty minutes.

In twenty minutes I can have a complete and full update on nearly every one of the 32 people in my immediate family (siblings, spouses, kids).

Now, I’m not making any judgement regarding my strong, silent Country Boy. He and his brothers work all day, every day, together and not really talk. And, if I really think about it, that might be the reason they CAN work all day, every day, together. 

Still, I worry that his family will either think: a) we (and by “we” I mean me) don’t care what is going on in their lives or b) I know the something that is big that IS going on in their lives and we’re too ___________ [fill in the blank] to do anything about it. In either case, we come out looking like, well…like the animals we keep out in the barn when the reality is much different.

Sorry, Spike, didn’t mean to offend you.

So, my Country Boy kinsfolk, please know that I think of you often and wonder how you are all doing. And, perhaps someday, we’ll get together and catch up on all of the things and events that have happened since the last time I saw you.

That will happend as soon as the Country Boy mentions the dinner invitation that I asked him to extend to you…

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At least there are no words wasted…

  1. Jen says:

    City girl that Country Boy has changed in the 14 years I have known him. I ask the same questions if I talk to him and get the same responses as you. However I ask about you all to and get those same answers.

    • Jen says:

      Meant to say hasn’t changed.

    • Darn that Country Boy. If he wasn’t so cute and sweet….

      I think that was one of the perks of writing a blog – to keep the other side of the family informed that we were still alive. Now if only I could convice everyone to write their own blogs to let me know what was going on in their lives….

Leave a Reply

