Little white dresses and the blink of an eye

It has been a week since Zoe’s First Communion and I am still thinking about three little girls in white dresses.

It seems like only a blink of an eye ago that it was a white baptismal gown she was wearing. How did we get here so fast?

That little baby I once knew was not there anymore. Instead there was this new, beautiful lady. So serene in her being – like a swan.

I think about her friends too. They looked transformed in their white dresses.

No longer the little toddlers I once knew with stains on their clothes from playing outside. Now they had maturity in their faces and demeanor.

There was one moment in particular last week that has stuck with me. We had brought the three friends outside to take a few pictures together and we were going back inside for the ceremony. Maybe it was a combination of their excitement for what was about to come and the white dresses they were wearing but I felt like I was seeing a glimpse of a future wedding day.

Trust me, I am in no big hurry for that day to arrive. I am still enjoying these moments when a little girl still wants and needs her Mom around her. But I think that God gives us those visions of future events to prepare our hearts for the day that those little white dresses will be put on again by the women we have raised.

Until then I will appreciate my little girl and her little white dress and try not to blink…

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

