Finish lines

The last major school project.

The last spelling test.

We’ve been having a lot of “lasts” recently.

The last day of my women’s group at church.

The last soccer game.

Lots of things are coming to an end or winding down for the year.

The last book report.

The last math factors test.

Endings can be a good thing. Sometimes the changing of seasons can be welcomed because of the excitement of the things to come. The new adventures that fresh starts can bring are sometimes invigorating.

The last day of school.

Other times, the endings creep up on you and catch you off guard. You think  to yourself, “How can it end? Didn’t we just start?”

The last day of having a child in the Primary School building.

I don’t know how I have come to have two children in the Intermediate School building. I swear that they were just in the preschool class last week.

Yet here we are: Me, with many more gray hairs, my baby finally “old enough” to read the Harry Potter series and my oldest talking about the friends she wants to have over next week.

My half marathon is coming up this Saturday. I am hoping that the miles I have to run pass by as fast as the last school year. And if they don’t, then I will wish that their childhood – and my time with them – passes by as slowly as my jogging pace.

Either way, the finish lines will come for both that race and my season as being a major part of my daughters’ lives.

I know I will be ready for one. Really ready. Drop down on my knees and kiss the pavement as they put the participant’s medal around my neck ready.  

As for the other, I am praying that is more like an ultra-marathon by the time it is over.

And that I have the sense to walk the last several miles.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

