Long live the Queen

Dateline June 27th

Allow me to properly introduce myself. I am Millicent Anne Frideswide Wilmont. The humans around here call me a much more common name, Nala, to which I respond rather reluctantly. Apparently, they aren’t used to being around individuals of higher class and culture. Based on what I have seen in the week I have been here, they were woefully surrounded by beasts until my arrival so I cannot expect them to notice royalty right away.

Alas, I am here now and have established my reign over the kingdom. Granted, that first day required me to act in a very undignified way when confronted by the hound they call Riley. He was, after all, sniffing my most private area and a female must do what she needs to do to gain some level of decorum. I am sure my idols – Queens Victoria and Elizabeth – would have done the same thing, if need be. One’s comportment must sometimes fall below perfection when dealing with others – especially those who jump in muddy ponds or frolic around groundhog holes. Indeed!

And, apparently, I have yet to fully meet all of the inhabitants my dominion. There are three large beasts on holiday in Pennsylvania for the last week whom I have only olfactorily met when I surveyed their barn quarters. They have sent us a post from their vacation:

I simply shudder when I think about the subjects under my imperial throne. I can tell that we will need to establish formal schooling at once upon their return (although I have heard whispers that they leave for some sort of expedition in the Fall so we may need to delay until they homecoming – hopefully with chests full of jewels and gold coins for my treasury).

In any event, I have made a point of training the humans to bend to my wishes. I freely enter and leave their household as I desire when they are home. I enter and lounge on areas forbidden to others, especially that canine whom looks upon my trip upstairs with a longing that amuses me. The humans, even the man who roams the kingdom, seem powerless when I pull out my purrs. They are like putty in my paws.

There are still areas I need to address. The chickens have made the one section of the barn where my food resides completely untidy. Honestly, how can one expect to live – EAT! – in such conditions as that where you are subjected to the constant cacophony of clucking? I also need to get the humans to plant catnip in the garden. Finally, I need to teach that dog to stop placing his nostrils where they don’t belong. Apparently, honoring personal space is not a high priority around here.

So thank you for your most gracious attention. I shall look forward to our next meeting, at which time I shall hopefully have much more to discuss in terms of my most glorious rule over this land.

– Millicent Anne Frideswide Wilmont (aka, Nala)

 

 

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Long live the Queen

  1. Love it! I can picture a little crown on her head!

Leave a Reply

