Couldn’t have said it better myself

I usually clean out the girls’ backpacks at the end of the school week to make sure I don’t miss anything important or leave a pb&j sandwich in the bottom for three days.

Trust me when I say that isn’t something you want to discover too often…

I didn’t have a chance to clean out their packs before the weekend this time. Thankfully, no squished sandwiches. What I did discover was a piece of writing done by Zoe that I just can’t resist sharing on a cloudy Monday morning to help brighten things up a bit:

Peace

Peace is in our life. Peace is not war or fighting, but it is the light breeze making me smile when I go out to feed the cat and the mules (not the dog (Riley) because my momma handles him). I hear the distant calling of my dog. My family would definitely say yes to peace, no more weeding! Yoohoo! Yessssss!

***

Reading her description of peace as a light breeze was very cool. I thought it seemed like a neat description, especially since she’s 8. I appreciated the props I got for always feeding the dog – thanks, Z, for noticing. What really made me smile was the connection she made between peace and no more weeding. I don’t know that I would’ve made that jump, but had I done so, her “Yoohoo” is EXACTLY what my reaction would’ve been.

And for the record, I made sure to include every one of the six s’s on the yes at the end…

That’s what we’ve got going on at the farm today. And as Zoe would say,

Peace out

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

