The first step is acknowledgement

I will admit to a little bit of gross factor.

I will say that my “I’m turning into a country girl” bravado has taken a step back.

I will acknowledge that I will be thinking about more than just “Am I going to be able to make it all the way to the barn without tripping and dumping these two buckets of water all over me?” the next time I have to feed the mules.

I know that I should have thought of it before now.

I realize that I was in denial.

I understand that I need to use this as a teachable moment for the girls.

Still…

When the Country Boy asked me for some items so that he could remove a tick from an area that I would have thought was totally immune from tick issues, I felt like I need to get into the van and drive to the nearest Starbucks to immerse myself in city-ness.

Yes, he spent days in the woods hunting, but this little…um…now big guy probably wasn’t a Kentucky souvenir. That means that he got it since being home. And, considering I am the one spending more time in the barn and out on the farm these days, that means I am a fertile target for ticks.

Ugh.

Newest item on my Christmas list – a bubble suit that those haz-mat guys wear because I have to believe that if hazardous materials can’t get through, than it is tick proof.

Plus, the mules and the dog seem to be creating quite a bit of “hazardous materials” of their own that I always need to avoid…

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

