Gale force winds possible through this evening

It started around 5:10 am.

Cloudy skies and high winds.

By 7 am, the first rumbles of thunder could be detected.

It was chaos by 7:30. Lightening crashing, winds tossing things everywhere. Kids running for cover.

Things started to improve by 8. The winds calmed and the thunder stopped. The sun even started to peak out by 9.

Still, the dark clouds haven’t completely disappeared and there is that feeling in the air that havoc could breakout at any time.

If you are in Northeast Ohio today, you are totally confused by my weather forecast. To you, it has been an unbelievably beautiful fall day – plenty of sun, calm winds, unseasonably warm temperatures.

I didn’t say that I was talking about the weather outside. I was talking about my mood today.

Ever have one of those days when you just are crabby when you wake up without any real reason that you can pinpoint? A day when you just feel like you got a short fuse and there are open flames every where you look?  (If you said, “No, my life is just like Snow White – all blue birds tweeting and perfect pitch voice singing in the harmony with the world…” then I beg of you to please lie to me at this point…and I will remind you that there are plenty of us out there who can act like the evil queen sometimes so you best stay clear of us when necessary and go hang out in a cabin in the woods – just not the woods near our camp or I may find you there when I am being crabby, too.)

I am having one of those days. Just crabby from the moment I got out of bed.

I tried to shake myself out of it by going to Starbucks. I mean, if a Venti Non-fat Chai can’t break the storms then I’m really in trouble. It helped, but still could feel the storm clouds hanging around.

Tried getting some tasks done, with the thinking being that scratching stuff off the “to do” list would help. Eh, not so much.

Tried cleaning up the computer to make it run faster. Definitely wrong move. (Really, what was I thinking?)

Tried drinking a cold Coke. Helped recover a little after the computer moment, but still feel the rumbles.

Praying helped, especially this morning, but even God is taking cover (or, more likely, rolling His eyes at me).

I have to snap out of it. I have about an hour left before the post-school craziness begins and I can’t still be in this mood at that point. I could go for a run. I could take Riley for a good, long walk. I could eat that chocolate bunny that one of the girls has left over from Easter, still wrapped in foil (I wonder what is the shelf life on chocolate? Does it matter at this point?). I could sit in a cozy chair and read the book I got from the library.

Or I could sit here and figure out how I managed to delete the printer driver, eliminating my ability to print off the program I am working on for a meeting tomorrow morning.

The winds are starting to pick up. You may want to run for cover….

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

