And then the truth slaps you in the face

I talked about the “impending doom” on the horizon because Maddie started dotting her “i’s” with circles. Part of me hoped that maybe I was mistaken. Maybe circles for dots isn’t the sign for adolescence/teenage angst beginning after all. Maybe I was older when I used the circles for dots and this was just a fluke that she was using them at age 10. Then we unpacked our holiday stuff and,bam! There it is, plain as can be:

image

A plate I created when I was 10 with the tell tale marking present in the word Christmas. I did the smilie face derivation, but the indicators are all there that we are in for a heck of a roller coaster ride in the coming years. Bring out the egg nog. I’m going to need some extra holiday cheer….

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Parenthood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

