Wanting a life of cipitation because anticipation stinks

I think I started the anticipation of the Christmas blues in October. It got strong in November and unbearable in December. Poor Country Boy was dealing with an emotional roller coaster ride that didn’t seem to have any end (or at least one that would end well…).

Then the week the girls would leave came. And then Christmas came. And then I was left alone on the farm with mules, and other animals. All of the things I had anticipated happening and that had made my insides feel like Frosty in a greenhouse.

But other things happened, too. We spent Christmas Eve with the Country Boy’s family,a large portion of whom were going through the first Christmas without their Mom. We all had moments of tears, but we also had moments of fun and laughter. It was nice to lean on one another.

The Country Boy and I spent Christmas with a good friend and her wacky family. I saw wacky because he reminded me of my family, and I know we’re wacky. It was the next best thing to being home.

Those days where I was left with a quiet farm and an ark full of animals actually wasn’t so bad either. I was snowed in and made the most of my solitude. Riley and Nala are great listeners. Plus, they know how to keep a secret.

I ended my time being thankful for technology (the person who created FaceTime is my new hero) because I had a chance to see my girlies even if just for a brief chat. I was also thankful for the exact opposite of cutting edge, slick gadgets. Zoe had made two delightfully 3rd grader like crafts that she made us open on Christmas Eve. My washcloth snowman and the Country Boy’s rock face Santa were the reason I survived the days they were gone. So adorably kid made, they were better at putting the Christmas spirit in my heart than anything else. Thank God.

Before I knew it, the girls were home and life on the farm turned back into the crazy, laughter-filled (and preteen tantrum land mine filled) place I know and love. So, in two years when I’m faced with a Christmas without the girls remind me not to let it get me down so much.

And remind me to wait until after Christmas to shop for their presents.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

