If only

If only I had not grown up in the snowbelt of Western NY and was afraid of driving when the weather forecast called for 3-6″ of fresh snow to fall in four hours.

If only I had not allowed my heart time to grieve and heal from what I had gone through so it was still too jaded to love again.

If only one of my best friends hadn’t changed careers and worked at a place where a coworker decided to take up horseback riding at a barn near where I lived.

If only they hadn’t decided to go to the barn gathering out at a new place in town and invited me to go along.

If only I had made other plans or rented a sappy, chick flick of a movie at home.

If only I didn’t have the willingness to go to new places.

If only I was was in a shy mood rather than the more talkative personality trait I inherited from my father.

If only I was less brave.

If only he had made other plans and couldn’t help his cousin who lived over an hour away from his house.

If only his cousin was more reserved and quiet.

If only he hadn’t allowed himself to be talked into staying a little longer rather than going back to an empty house.

If only he hadn’t been sitting at a place that was on the path I was about to cross.

If only our eyes hadn’t met.

If any of those things would’ve been different five years ago this weekend, then I wouldn’t be where I am right now-married to a Country Boy and living on a farm…

and dealing with a dog that just ate a whole loaf of Gluten Free bread when I turned my back for a second.

You never know when or where the moment that will change your life’s path will happen. I thank God every day that everyone involved made the choices needed to allow for the Country Boy and I to meet.

Notice I said “every day” and not “every moment,” because, frankly, when that dog eats a $6 loaf of bread or when I have a mule who looks like he’s ready to kick me across the barn I wonder how my life got to this point. But just for a moment. Then it’s back to blissful, bluebird happiness…until the cat goes ninja on my nice chair.

About CountryBoyCityGirl

A city girl who fell in love with a country boy. Found bliss, along with large piles of mule droppings for her and two little girls to now try to avoid.
This entry was posted in Life in the Country, This thing called marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If only

  1. Nancy says:

    Love this post. So sweet, so true, so down-to-earth.

  2. Linda says:

    That was a great night, and your post captures all the “if only” moments perfectly.

Leave a Reply

